Happy Holidays

Okay, okay. I’m the low man on the totem pole in my IT dept, so I really can’t say I have anything to do with our dept budget. I do, however, get to see the pretty orders for new and updated shiny…and I’m excited. We are growing, and with that growth comes fun new networking tools. The only problem is I don’t have intimate knowledge of many of the new features on the new shine. So what am I going to do? I’m going to mark this time of year on my calendar and set aside a few hundred bucks to spend, that’s what I’m going to do. Here’s why:

Black Friday: Audible.com slashes currency prices (as opposed to tokens), so I grabbed Security+ and a CCNA Audiobook. Under ten dollars between the two. Even better, sometime around Christmas Udemy.com dropped the price of every course to $10. In response, I purchase a 5 series’ covering CCNA, CCNP BGP, an IPv6 deep dive, Security+, and Python. Literally over a hundred hours of stuff I need to memorize for my certs this coming year and I spent a lousy 50 bucks. Sweet.

Holy flash Batman, It’s raining USBs! Yes, it seems that the holidays are the right time to buy thumb drives. I bought five, totaling about 200 gigs, between Wal-Mart, Amazon, and Newegg for less than $25 dollars. I have one in my pocket, two on my keychain, and I was able to make 2 more copies to my USB login key. That’s enough shopping, between Audible, Udemy, Cert dues, and Christmas presents,  I’m Happy….and broke.

Finally, as we wound our way into Christmas, the doctor told my wife it is time to have the baby. Katherine was born over the holidays! Let the sleep deprivation begin.

It’s a week late, but Merry [whatever-doesn’t-offend-you…] and Happy New Years!

Leave a Reply

