How well do you really know the controls?

Okay, okay! I’m sorry! I know I’ve been teasing an untangle deep dive for weeks, but this isn’t it. I hope to publish that soon, but I wanted to include the recently released Untangle 12 OS. The good, hell Great, news is we pushed our test box to UT12 OS and I will get to move traffic through it tomorrow! Hopefully I’ll be able to include a chunk of UT12 details in the deep dive. Moving on then!

My Windows mojo got kicked in the teeth recently. Now, I’m not specifically a Windows admin, more of a power-user than anything else. So, this week we had an issue with a Cradlepoint’s recently acquired VPN service, Pertino. We’ve had Pertino for a while, but the merger is pretty new. Cradlepoint, like every other company acquiring a software suite, decided to push out an annoying lot of updates. We haven’t had a single issue with Pertino before Cradlepoint; it’s been a solid P2P VPN service. Basically, after a massive number of unsolicited Pertino updates collided vetted Windows server updates, the P2P VPN tunnels broke. We go through the list of all the networking 101 troubleshooting, and….it couldn’t have looked more perfect. The only weird bit was we kept getting bad DNS queries from our applications. So after double and triple checks, we called Cradlepoint tech support. Okay, okay, here’s the fun part: Did you know there are more adapter settings hidden in the Windows “Network Connections” hiding under your [alt] key? Look for yourself!

 

advanced

If you click “Advanced Settings” you get a little prompt that lets you control the order in which adapters apply their configurations. Guess what, the order was out of whack, so all of our P2P hosts were trying to pull DNS which didn’t resolve to our systems. Fixed the order on each remote device and Viola! Solved.

This one made me feel really dumb. I spent years in ISP level tech support, from phone jockey up to a NOC internship. (i thought) I’ve poked around every inch host settings in Windows, Apple, and a few Linux distros. This utterly confounded me. I mean seriously, there’s always an [alt] functions for folders in Explorer, so why did I assume there wasn’t in Network Connections?

Leave a Reply

